TODO: Create an XSLT Extension to show data on Front End

Coordinator
May 11, 2010 at 10:53 PM

Since the value is stored in the databse as an XML string, an XSLT extension is required to convert to an HTML table on the Front End.

Developer
May 12, 2010 at 6:17 AM

Can't you just use a normal XSLT file instead of an XSLT extension? If the XML is stored as a property in the database (in the cmsPropertyData table) it is also stored inside the umbraco.config file. No XSLT extension is required if it's stored inside the umbraco.config XML. The Tribal XPath node relations package does the same thing with a normal XSLT file.

Coordinator
May 12, 2010 at 7:36 AM
Sounds like a good idea, but I'm pretty new to xslt. Keen to write it?
Developer
May 12, 2010 at 10:30 PM

A file is definitely the way to go - users of this DataType will almost always have to do some sort of modification to suit client needs.

Also, I'd be happy to help writing the actual XSLT if you'd like some help in that area.

Coordinator
May 12, 2010 at 11:28 PM
Edited May 12, 2010 at 11:29 PM

Thanks @greystate, I'll add you as a Developer if you'd like to contribute to the project and help with the XSLT.

Here's an example of the XML that gets written to the umbraco.config file

<data alias="dimensions"><![CDATA[&lt;NewDataSet&gt;&lt;Dimensions&gt;&lt;Column1&gt;Desk&lt;/Column1&gt;&lt;Width&gt;1200mm&lt;/Width&gt;&lt;
Height&gt;600mm&lt;/Height&gt;&lt;Depth&gt;800mm&lt;/Depth&gt;&lt;/Dimensions&gt;&lt;Dimensions&gt;&lt;Column1&gt;Chair&lt;/Column1&gt;&lt;
Width&gt;500mm&lt;/Width&gt;&lt;Height&gt;1200mm&lt;/Height&gt;&lt;Depth&gt;800mm&lt;/Depth&gt;&lt;/Dimensions&gt;&lt;/NewDataSet&gt;
]]></data>

Developer
May 14, 2010 at 11:11 AM

The xml you store in the umbraco.config is now stored as a string. For xslt it would be much easier if you store your data as xml. Here you can find a sample how this can be done: http://www.nibble.be/?p=51

Developer
May 15, 2010 at 10:37 PM

Hi Marko,